Race Report: Stadium Short Course Championship – Round 3

The third and final round of the 2018 Stadium Short Course Championship which was held at the Benaraby Mx Track has been run & won with plenty of action during the Day/ night event. There were 6 day heats which consisted of 5 laps each heat and then the final heat under lights was an 8 lap final.

Classes Winners:
– Junior SxS: #625 Bryce Titmarsh
– Performance SxS: #39 Brody Vohland
– Pro SxS: #51 Brett Comiskey
– Performance 4wd: #12 David Edwards
– Pro 4wd: #13 Scott Purkis
– Pro 2wd: #482 Rick Norris
– Superlites: #16 Damien Cowdroy-Ling

Outright Winners – Round 3:
1st: #51 Brett Comiskey
2nd: #678 Brad Hancock
3rd: #637 Richard Tassin

28 teams lined up for prologue,  two competitors during prologue who were out for the day early were Benjamin Hoare in the Rotary powered Pro 2wd who flat landed the jump injuring his back which saw him out for the rest of the event. Brett Thorn in his Can-am rolled up to 7 times after having a component failure on the landing of the main jump.

Junior competitor Katelyn Long had a spectacular save in her Polaris SxS during one of the day heats where it went up onto 2 wheels one way then as it landed it kicked up onto 2 wheels the other way but she managed to save it again and then continued on to finish the heat.

Rhett Bryant had a very close call on the last turn during one of the 4wd heats when the Performance 4wd entry of Mark Hodge had his engine completely cut out just before the finish line, Rhett’s Ultra 4 Buggy kicked up onto 2 wheels and looked certain to go over but he somehow managed to save it from rolling and not run into the Blue Gq wagon at the same time.

There were some great battles during the event with Richard Tassin & Sybrand De Klerk in their Pro SxS Can-Am’s being one of them. These guys had a friendly rivalry at Round 2 which continued into Round 3.

The event marked the end of the 2018 Stadium Short Course Championship and after 3 rounds Pro 4wd competitor, Scott Purkis took the outright win, ahead of Brad Hancock and Steve Reibel.

Race report and photos thanks to James Maroske.