The Countdown to Outback is on!

A solid field has assembled for the 2015 Outback Challenge being held around Broken Hill from September 25th to October 2nd. The week of racing will test the teams to the limits as they tackle 20 stages over the rock, mud, sand and the station tracks of the Broken Hill region.


2014 winners Chris Hummer and Neil Cooper from Team Dynamic lead the quality field of 25 starters.

On October 2nd, Mad Max will be the epic final stage of the infamous Outback Challenge. Starting on the doorstep of the iconic Silverton Hotel this stage takes competitors through the most extreme terrain that the Australian Outback has to offer. Guided by GPS navigation competitors are required to complete the 170km course within 10 hours. Scores are given for distance achieved but the overall winner must complete the course. The terrain includes soft sandy creek beds, rocky gorges, mountains of shale and high speed station tracks.


The record for this stage is 9:07min, this is the only team to have completed the stage within the 10 hour time frame.

Narva Mad Max is the final stage for the week long Outback Challenge. But this stage is also an event in its own right and is open to all classes of vehicles sanctioned by the CCDA including Production Class, Challenge Class, Open Class and Ultra 4. After the success of 2014 a number of genuine Ultra 4 race cars are planning on backing up immediately from King of the Hunter, including Peter Antunac’s IFS, IRS Big Block powered OPW buggy and Ben Napiers Penhall as a final challenge before preparing for the 2016 King of the Hammers.

The 2015 Outback Challenge sponsors include: Pro Comp, ARB, Narva, Jeep Konection, Coates Hire – Mildura, Road Runner Offroad, Biders 4WD Unlimited, Racebred 4WD, Second Air, Dynamica rope, ExplorOz, Hema Maps

Follow the Outback Challenge on Facebook here


Number Team Driver Co Driver State Vehicle
1 Tireballs Australia Russell Andrew Joe Vowles VIC Nissan GQ
2 Country Lane Homes Shayne Barkley Simon Gipp VIC Nissan GQ
3 Dynamic Chris Hummer Neil Cooper VIC Nissan GQ
4 MGC Racing Mitch Gould Cam Guy VIC Nissan GQ
5 Road Runner Offroad Barry Smethurst Jim Hayes VIC Nissan GQ
6 Marks 4WD Adaptors/Readies 4×4 Clint Read Nathan Penno VIC Nissan GQ
7 Smithies Outback Jason May Darren Crout VIC
8 Rammer Racing Paul Andrewartha Ty Couche VIC Nissan GQ
9 Robson Brothers Racing Rob Robson Cass Jones WA Nissan GQ
10 Garden Shed MotorSport Jason Williams Ryan Retton-Howe NSW Jeep
11 Big Wheels Truck Alignment Paul Whiting QLD
12 Atarmon Shane Kilmurray Mitcheal Brooks NSW
13 Mick Whitehead Mick Whitehead Cosmo NSW Bush Rangie
14 Racebred 4wd 2 Adrian Marshall Jason Ford VIC Nissan GQ
15 Racebred 4wd 1 Matt Burkett Dean Burrows VIC Nissan GQ
16 Cliffhanger Steve Hobbs Sam Hobbs VIC Nissan GQ
17 The 4WD Shed / Stealth Winches Phill Carr Simon Barton-Ancliffe VIC Nissan GQ
18 Scraptech Dave Cameron Simon Cameron VIC Nissan GQ
19 LineMX Joel Smith Simmo Evans VIC Nissan GQ
20 BIG-O 4×4 Daniel Dewit Andrew Cox SA GU Patrol
21 Dog and Budgie Racing Jake Chislett Rob Sullivan QLD Nissan GQ
22 Ranga Rage Racing Jeremy Campbell Chris Waanders VIC Nissan GQ
23 Warren Irvin Warren Irvin Clinton Irvin VIC
24 Tonka Tough Racing Trent Huntley Zac Ward WA Nissan GQ
25 007 Andrew Curry Steve Fowler VIC


Team OPW Pete Antunac David Camp NSW Ultra 4
Thorpe Motorsport Mitchell Thorpe Matthew White QLD Ultra 4
M&N Motorsports Nick Finch Mal Vanysseldyk NSW Ultra 4
MR Diggit Racing Michael Dolan Chris Dolan NSW SXS
Midget Motorsports Jamie Way NSW SXS
BN Motorsports Ben Napier NSW Ultra 4
MRG Motorsports Mitch Gregory Marshal Bell NSW Ultra 4
Crawlerbits James Hill Benn Collings VIC Challenge