Sporties 12 Hour Wrap Up

In an offroad race determined by time rather than a specific distance, “Last Minute Racing’s” Danny Auricht in the #8 Jimco and Andrew Mowles in the #135 Razorback have stormed home to win the Sporties 12 Hour Enduro held at the Alice Springs Offroad Track on the weekend. The two car Alice Springs based team were true to their name, only entering the event on Friday just before the close of entries. They clocked up 18 laps between them of the 58.7km course through the red desert sands to take the win and prize money.

Second outright was “Team Wenbrae” consisting of Steven Sanderson’s #47 Jimco and Craig Prettlejohn’s Super 1650 #223 Razorback who finished on 17 laps.

Third outright was the #450 truck of Dylan Blake and the #31 Aceco of Brett Taylor from “Loose Cannon Motorsport”. The team overcame Taylor’s late morning roll over to complete 17 laps.

Fourth was the pairing of Beau Robinson’s #413 Geiser Truck and Andrew Pinto’s #5 Jimco. Pinto qualified fastest but was forced to retire the Jimco after his first session out on the track when the tranmission casing cracked. This left the Robinson’s #413 Geiser as the sole representative of “Team Mucking Bad Boys” and the task of circulating all day, with Travis and Brian both putting in a stint behind the wheel once Beau reached the 60% limit for one driver.

Fifth place was locked down by the “Bloody Tuff Team” of Rod Berry in the #505 Falcon Ute and Axel Greening’s #268 Buggy

Sixth were “Team DOA” with Luke McDonald in the #445 Datsun Ute and the #211 Super 1650 of Hayden Foley.

Seventh were the “Small Little Fast Guys” with #860 Ken Callanan’s Suzuki Ute kept busy out on the track once the #213 Holeshot of Stewart Pritchard retired with rear suspension failure.

The final team to complete all 12 hours of racing were “All Good Brus”. Danny Bartels in the #470 Sporties Truck overcame a flop on it’s side early on Sunday morning to charge hard and put on a spectacular show as the day progressed, sharing the workload with team mate Lester Hamilton in the #613 Polaris.

Part of the weekend of festivities at the offroad club included the 6 hour race for the Quads on Saturday afternoon, running from 2pm to 8pm. Racing on a shorter 35km course on a separate loop to the cars the team of #1 Totani / Coulthard, backed up their 2012 win with a repeat performace. Finishing on 13 laps, ahead of #9 Thompson / Graham on 12 laps and #945 Hill / Hill on 12 laps. #904 Michael Geraghty was the Ironman winner on 13 laps, ahead of brother #Y01 Brad Geraghty in second and #Y97 Willy Orr in third on 12 laps.

Thanks to the Alice Springs Off Road Club for their hospitality over the weekend. Look out for full coverage in Edition 36 of Dirtcomp.

[nggallery id=18]